CURLING CLUB HISTORY
Curling has enjoyed a long and vibrant
history in Arnprior. The game was first played on the Madawaska River
about 1865, and later on open rinks on a bay in the river.
The first covered rink with a
low ceiling was built on Victoria Street in 1868. At the same time, the
open-air rink on the Madawaska River had a large patronage.
The pioneer rink was demolished
in 1871 and a rink of regulation size was built on the same site. In 1876
a new rink was built on Harriet Street and in 1886 the club was
The Harriet Street building was
demolished in 1899 when a two sheet-curling rink was erected on Elgin
Street. A three-sheet rink with fine clubrooms, kitchen and large
ballroom replaced this facility in 1935.
The present building on Galvin
Street, a four sheet design, was built in 1969 and opened on February 14,
1970 at a total cost of $174,000.00.